A Long Day on the Gulf of Mexico

November 21, Grayton Beach to Big Lagoon

Sorry for the break in reportage. I took a week off the blog to concentrate on better paying work. I hope, dear reader, that you didn’t spend all your time thinking about me.

On November 21st I woke up early in Grayton Beach State Park and prepared to ride a lot of miles. My tent and gear were pretty wet but I couldn’t wait around for them to dry. The Thanksgiving crowd was firing up their RV-mounted flat-screen TVs as I pedaled out of the park with a variety of wet clothes strapped to my bike to dry.

By noon I was sick of the Gulf Coast. From Panama City to Destin it’s covered in tourists, condos, and jet skis. The highway was crowded with vacationers. A long stretch of road near Destin had just been refinished, but the shoulder wasn’t paved yet. Cars constantly whizzed by at 60 miles an hour, so I stayed on the bone-jarring unfinished shoulder. I stopped in a parking lot to eat lunch and take a break from the traffic. While eating a melted snickers, I searched a map for a less touristy route.

I discovered that in 20 or 30 miles, I could take a detour from Highway 98 and ride on Santa Rosa Island for about 20 miles. With that in mind, I got back on the crowded highway and pedaled as fast as I could. On the way, I stopped at the Fort Walton Beach library. Before checking my email, I used Google maps to calculate the distance to New Orleans. What I found out shocked me so much that instead of checking my email, I left the library immediately and got back on my bike. I was 243 miles away from New Orleans. I wanted to be there in two and a half days.

The bridge to Santa Rosa island had a bike path between a railing and a jersey barrier. The space was a few inches wider than my handlebars. It was a slow ride but the island at the end was beautiful. At first, colorful vacation houses lined the side of the road. Santa Rosa island is long and narrow, I could see water to my left and right during the whole 20-mile trip across the island. The flat, sandy spit of an island narrowed as I went west. Eventually, the houses lining the road gave way to white sand.

A seven-mile stretch of the island was deserted. There were no houses in sight and I could ride for miles without even seeing a car. I stopped at a park in the middle of the island to savor the experience. The park was closed for winter, so I pushed my bike around the gate and went to the empty beach. It was mid-afternoon and at least 70 degrees. I still had a long way to go but I took some time to hang out on the beach and let my tent dry out. I spread my tent out on a picnic table and put every water bottle I had on it to keep the wind form blowing it away. The tent was bone dry by the time I packed it up.

At the end of the island there was a long bridge to a town called Gulf Breeze. Less than a mile later, there’s an even longer bridge to Pensacola. In between the two bridges I stopped at a gas station. After advising me about which flavored peanuts to buy, the clerk showed me a grammar error in the day’s newspaper. We discussed the error for a while. He told me he finds errors in the paper all the time. I suggested he start sending the errors into the paper. Maybe they would put him on the payroll eventually. “I doubt there even is a payroll,” he replied. Smart fellow.

I liked what I saw of Pensacola. My route through town took me by some big parks and old buildings in the middle of the city. I wanted to get a beer at the Pensacola Bay Brewery, but it was getting late and I needed to get out of town to find a place to sleep. My Adventure Cycling map showed a campground 25 miles away at Big Lagoon State Park – I wouldn’t be there until after dark. I called the campground to make sure they weren’t filled with Thanksgiving vacationers. The guy who answered the phone said they had plenty of spaces but the gate closed at 5 p.m. I decided to go there, hoping to get in after dark and avoid paying.

At 5 p.m. I was still five miles from the campground. It was pretty dark and I had all my lights on. I finally found the campground at 5:30 p.m. To my surprise, the gate wasn’t closed and a ranger jumped out of the office as I rode by.

Luckily, The ranger just wanted to talk to me about my ride. He had already shut down the computers and he told me I could pay in the morning. “If you leave before eight then it’s on us,” he said. That was a relief because camping was $25.

I had Big Lagoon State Park mostly to myself, so I picked out a better site than the one the ranger had assigned me and started eating honey buns. I was still 200 miles from New Orleans but it wouldn’t be too hard to get there by the end of Thanksgiving.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment